Exclude closed accounts from email delivery¶
If the email address of a user who has closed their account on your service remains in Repro, Repro will continue to send emails to that address. To stop sending emails to users with closed accounts, exclude them from the delivery target using one of the following three methods.
Method |
Overview |
|---|---|
Set a user profile that indicates account closure, and exclude those users in the delivery target settings of each campaign. |
|
Import the email addresses of users with closed accounts as suppressed users. |
|
Delete user data with the Deletion Targeted User Registration API |
Delete user data, including email addresses, from Repro with the Deletion Targeted User Registration API. |
Exclude with a user profile¶
Use the SDK or the User Profile API to set a user profile that indicates account closure on users who have closed their accounts. Then, in the delivery target settings of each campaign, exclude users who have that user profile.
For how to set user profiles, see the following pages.
For how to set the delivery target, see Broadcast mail.
Note
With this method, you need to specify the exclusion condition in the delivery target settings every time you create a campaign. Campaigns without the exclusion condition will send emails to users with closed accounts as well.
Import as suppressed users (Recommended)¶
Import the email addresses of users with closed accounts into Repro as suppressed users. Emails are not sent to suppressed users regardless of the delivery target settings of campaigns.
For the import procedure and CSV file specifications, see Email Address Import for Mail Delivery. You can check the status after import in Email Address List.
Warning
Import users with closed accounts as suppressed users, not as optout users. When the delivery option ‘Send emails to users who have unsubscribed’ is enabled for broadcast mail or trigger mail, emails are also sent to optout users. Emails are not sent to suppressed users even when this option is enabled. For details on the delivery option, see Broadcast mail.
Delete user data with the Deletion Targeted User Registration API¶
With the Deletion Targeted User Registration API, you can delete the user data of users with closed accounts, including their email addresses, from Repro. Consider this method if you do not need to keep the data of these users in Repro.
For how to use the Deletion Targeted User Registration API, see Deletion Targeted User Registration API.
Warning
The Deletion Targeted User Registration API specifies the users to delete by user ID. Users without a registered user ID cannot be deleted.
The deletion process starts about 6 days after the request is accepted. Until the deletion process starts, emails will still be sent to the users with closed accounts.
The Deletion Targeted User Registration API cannot be canceled. Deleted user data cannot be restored.